Image

I’ve started making 3×5 documentation cards for the various samples in my rare breed sampler box. The information includes a washed lock of the breed, samples of singles, combed and carded 2 ply and 3 ply yarn samplings, along with notes on how the particular breed was to work with.   I hope to knit swatches and weave swatches of the various breeds after getting them all documented.

Link | This entry was posted in Fiber and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Documentation

  1. Jen says:

    You are pure dead brilliant wee hen, you are ! Good work, so thorough.

  2. Maia says:

    Love your card!

    How do you like the California Red? I have found it disappointing. The color comes from the coarser fibers and those are lost if you comb the fiber.

    • Moz says:

      Thanks, the cards are very helpful. The California Red I had was white. I think it turns white as the sheep ages so I missed out on the color in my sample. I found I really liked the Cheviot and the Clun Forest was somewhat as you described the CR. Peeked at your blog… love the colors you got with the rhubarb root dye.

  3. Shine says:

    Love your site…thanks so much for all your info!! Shine

  4. I really need to discipline myself better to document. You do such a great job! =) I do take pictures of the process steps. The, the pics just sit on my laptop. grrr.

    • Moz says:

      Pics on laptop are a start. It does take a lot of time to document, but as with many things I do come back to see what I’ve recorded. Especially when asked …how did you do that? 🙂

  5. Paul Smith says:

    your “documenting your spinning” link takes you straight back to your own page.
    Great blogs though
    regards
    Paul

Leave a Reply

